(Advertisements are not shown for registered users)

Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Engine swaps, bolt-ons, tuning, OBD-1 conversions, forced induction, suspension & brake upgrades, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby Boogie/89crxSI » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:11 pm

Just confused on what I should do with the crank sensor? I know it doesn't use the crank sensor in the Y8because there's one in the distributor already but what do I do with a cap it off and zip tied out the way? Do I do the same with the knock sensor? I'm guessing I just want to wire the O2 straight to the jumper harness after I file which pin goes where. What to do with my mass airflow sensor? I already have done the resister bypass the alternator and distributor wiring. All I'm waiting on are the sensors. Lol rookie questions
All the way from Charleston SC :-)b
Boogie/89crxSI
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby 7PSI CRX » Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:36 pm

You confuse me with the statement about resistors and distributor wiring, yet you say you have an Si.

I would have to assume you've converted to OBD 1?

Either Remove the crank sensor or just cut the wire.
(Gotta get under the cover to change the motor mount bracket anyway)

Image


The only other modifications I had to make were to replace the Thermostat Housing due to clearance / Temperature Sensor issues.

Image

.
Image

And carefully trim the Timing Belt Cover for the installation of the A6 Motor Mount Bracket.

Image


My A6 Distributor bolted up perfectly to the Y8 without any modifications.
(I was running OBD "0" - Stock CRX Si ECU)
Last edited by 7PSI CRX on Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
7PSI CRX
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Lower Hudson Valley, NY

Re: Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby 7PSI CRX » Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:41 pm

Wherever you are.

A little more research will get you there
User avatar
7PSI CRX
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Lower Hudson Valley, NY

Re: Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby 7PSI CRX » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:04 pm

I also just realized that i did NOT USE the Y8 intake manifold whatsoever.

So I can't help at all on the intake concerns / questions.
User avatar
7PSI CRX
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Lower Hudson Valley, NY

Re: Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby 68vert » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:44 pm

My d16a6 is getting old/tired, and going to look at a d16y8 tomorrow. The d16y8 is out of an automatic car. I was reading something about the intake not usable because the IAT location? Have you heard anything about this?
68vert
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:12 am

Re: Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby Boogie/89crxSI » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:16 am

7PSI CRX wrote:Wherever you are.

A little more research will get you there



So a little bit more info on my situation. I bought my CRX with the Y8 swap in it already but only mounted in the bay... I was told that all it had to be wired up and it was ready but that was not the case! I had to take the transmission back apart from the block because they didn't have the guide dial lined up properly..then I come to find out that they cut and Hacked up the harness to pieces! :yell: so with a little research I found out I had to do the resister bypass for the fuel and Jack. Then the distributor I had wired a jumper... straighten out the engine bay a little bit but I still don't know what to do with the mass airflow sensor and tps... I'm also having issues with the throttle cable being to tight but with a little playing I can fix that
All the way from Charleston SC :-)b
Boogie/89crxSI
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Doing a y8 swap in my 89si.. o2 sensor?maf?knock&crank

Postby 7PSI CRX » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:20 am

68vert wrote:My d16a6 is getting old/tired, and going to look at a d16y8 tomorrow. The d16y8 is out of an automatic car. I was reading something about the intake not usable because the IAT location? Have you heard anything about this?


To answer your question:


Yes, that does sound familiar.
I'm an old man now and can't remember exactly.

Why not just use your existing A6 Intake Manifold?

Bolts right up, no modifications whatsoever.

Easy as pie.

You might miss out on 2-5 HP though.
User avatar
7PSI CRX
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Lower Hudson Valley, NY


Return to Modification Garage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 3 guests