(Advertisements are not shown for registered users)

crx vss on jdm cluster

Audio, video, navigation, radar detectors and more. Also for alarms, security systems, kill switches, and other immobilization techniques.

Moderator: Moderators

crx vss on jdm cluster

Postby border919 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 6:24 pm

i have a jdm cluster in my crx.its already installed and everything works except for the speedometer. what do i need to make this work since its not cable driven like my old one.no splicing BS i want to buy a part. not ghetto rig.thanks
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Postby bobski » Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:08 pm

Umm... Go buy an SiR. There's your splice-free part.


Here's the issue: Your CRX originally had its VSS (vehicle speed sensor) attached to the back of the cable-driven speedometer. Your new speedometer relies on the pulsing VSS signal to determine speed, rather than a spinning cable. Since you got rid of the stock gauge cluster, the car no longer has a VSS. No VSS means no VSS signal, and your new speedo has no way of knowing how fast the car is moving.
Thankfully, all '92+ Civics switched over to the electronic speedo system that the SiR uses. That means you can take the transmission-mounted VSS from a newer Civic and bolt it to your transmission in place of the cable drive gear assembly... The parts that actually connect to the transmission are the same size as the stock drive gear, so the newer VSS unit just drops in. '92-95 Civic units are a good bit more bulky than '96-05 Civic sensors, enough so that they can run into the engine mount, requiring that you cut chunks of material off the sensor to make it fit. The later, more compact sensors just drop in in my experience.

If you're not willing to connect the new sensor to power, ground (both found in the engine harness) and your existing VSS wiring (gotta run a wire through the firewall), you're SOL - To my knowledge, nobody makes a plug-in harness to convert to a transmission-mounted VSS.
User avatar
bobski
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Newark, DE

Postby Mista Bone » Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:18 am

Use a 6g 5 speed VSS unit, fits better around the rear tranny mount.
BoneSpec Transmission
"D" Tranny guru
User avatar
Mista Bone
 
Posts: 5302
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:11 pm
Location: Cincity, oHIo

Postby border919 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:42 am

im not worried about connecting to power,ground, and through firewall.i just didnt want people saying breakapart old cluster and zip tie shi** together and pray it works.
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Postby GHOSTY » Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:50 am

border919 wrote:im not worried about connecting to power,ground, and through firewall.i just didnt want people saying breakapart old cluster and zip tie shi** together and pray it works.

dude, that made me LOL so hardcore hahahahahaaa
-Brian
JKG08 wrote:tomorrow's high is 10 degrees...then below zero for the overnight. Go waste gas...I want global warming to work NOW!
imgoingforit wrote:Brake delete? RAD!

*Epic chat co-host*
User avatar
GHOSTY
Avatar Guru
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:40 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby border919 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:15 pm

thats what i kept reading.people said to like take apart old clusters and all this junk.i would prefer non ghetto ways haha.
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Postby 89whtrex » Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:42 am

so is there a specific wire/s that i must connect it to or just any reference wire n any ground? im a bit confused.
89whtrex
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:31 pm
Location: SoCal

Postby mattminerDOTcom » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:05 am

install a vss, run the 3 wires where the cable use to run. connect the power, ground, adn vss output to the cluster wiring appropriately.

ding, done

-M@
just livin' here in the us, trying to live the tuner lifestyle. real deal here man, all overnighted from japan
User avatar
mattminerDOTcom
Wicked M@
 
Posts: 6633
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Narragansett, RI. Beachside :P

crx vss

Postby border919 » Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:17 pm

can i just buy the top part of the evss?and attach it to my cable driven one?or do i need a whole assembly(i.e gear that actually goes into the trans)
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Postby bobski » Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:04 pm

The whole assembly.
User avatar
bobski
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Newark, DE

Postby border919 » Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:37 pm

Ok thanks
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Re: crx vss on jdm cluster

Postby border919 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:57 pm

i got one from a local junkyard for 20$ today.how do i know where the power,ground,and vss signals are? there are tiny little fins where the old male plug went in.do i solder wire to these?
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Re: crx vss on jdm cluster

Postby bobski » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:15 pm

There's supposed to be a connector that plugs in there. If the shroud around those metal pins (that the connector seals against and snaps on to) is missing, you got a damaged VSS.
Image
User avatar
bobski
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Newark, DE

Re: crx vss on jdm cluster

Postby border919 » Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:01 am

It's not damaged, the shroud is there.how do I wire it if I don't have that other connector
border919
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:52 am

Re: crx vss on jdm cluster

Postby Speed Racer » Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:20 pm

You need to go back to the junkyard and cut the plug off the harness. Then wire it up to the new plug.
User avatar
Speed Racer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:00 pm
Location: VanCity

Re: crx vss on jdm cluster

Postby Bdon03 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:00 pm

mattminerDOTcom wrote:install a vss, run the 3 wires where the cable use to run. connect the power, ground, adn vss output to the cluster wiring appropriately.

ding, done

-M@

I got the ground part but the other 2 wires where do I run those?
Bdon03
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 9:38 pm


Return to Car Audio, Gadgets and Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests