(Advertisements are not shown for registered users)

Double Din issue

Audio, video, navigation, radar detectors and more. Also for alarms, security systems, kill switches, and other immobilization techniques.

Moderator: Moderators

Double Din issue

Postby Holy_CRX » Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:07 pm

So I installed a double din Pioneer in my car recently, the mount that it had attached to it lined up with the screw holes for the factory radio trim. Ive looked for a trim kit to accommodate my issue, yet I have yet to find one that I feel will actually work. Mainly because of the "ash tray" and power outlet location, being underneath radio and cubby hole. I have found one at best buy but like I said I am not to sure about how it will work.

Any help in this area would be greatly appreciated, I know I saw in a post about current set ups someone had a picture of a double din installed. SO I know there is a way
User avatar
Holy_CRX
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:47 pm
Location: Dallas Texas, 75248

Re: Double Din issue

Postby jfrolang » Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:38 am

The easiest way to install a 2-DIN head unit is to buy the JDM 2-DIN console. They're getting rare though.

Next best bet is to carefully cut the stock 1-DIN console to make it fit.
User avatar
jfrolang
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17243
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: Boise, ID

Re: Double Din issue

Postby tommy » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:04 am

Yep, did it this winter. Takes a couple of hours and is pretty simple. I used audioroach's DIY writeup.
1990 ZcSi
User avatar
tommy
 
Posts: 2480
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: Westwood, NJ

Re: Double Din issue

Postby Holy_CRX » Sat Sep 10, 2016 7:38 pm

tommy wrote:Yep, did it this winter. Takes a couple of hours and is pretty simple. I used audioroach's DIY writeup.



Any chance you could post a link to said DIY? Tried searching and maybe I didnt do it right but I couldnt find anything. Ive found a Metra dash kit, but it deletes the little personal storage pullout and power outlet and leaves a dumb cubby instead. Really wanna keep my power port and tray.
User avatar
Holy_CRX
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:47 pm
Location: Dallas Texas, 75248

Re: Double Din issue

Postby ModifiedEF » Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:41 pm

ModifiedEF
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 6:03 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Double Din issue

Postby Baker » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:52 am

Holy_CRX wrote:
tommy wrote:Yep, did it this winter. Takes a couple of hours and is pretty simple. I used audioroach's DIY writeup.



Any chance you could post a link to said DIY? Tried searching.


Just type in "audio roach" in the search box on here.....
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65735
:idea:
User avatar
Baker
Mr. Search
 
Posts: 20793
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:48 am
Location: Between Cortland & Ithaca, NY

Re: Double Din issue

Postby tommy » Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:08 am

Wow, that Tegiwa looks pretty good (well, something doesn't look right about the holes at the bottom), and I'm not that crazy about fiberglass.

I'd probably go with that, though; between the stock piece, the glue and hardener, bondo, sand paper, paint, and so forth, you're saving only about $60 or so.
1990 ZcSi
User avatar
tommy
 
Posts: 2480
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: Westwood, NJ

Re: Double Din issue

Postby Holy_CRX » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:15 pm

jfrolang wrote:The easiest way to install a 2-DIN head unit is to buy the JDM 2-DIN console. They're getting rare though.

Next best bet is to carefully cut the stock 1-DIN console to make it fit.


Ive been looking at that option, after cutting it to make it fit what would I require to make the unit stay in place? I know with the single din the cage gets slid in and held in by the tabs pushed up and out. I assume they make a double din cage as well. Ive been so busy at work lately that I really havent had time to do anything more, right now it is held in by a mount meant for a Jeep Commander, the bolt holes line up to the factory trim mount spots, but the actually center console doesnt go all the way in, so right now it is just kind of sitting in place. Radio works great, but I really dont like my console being torn apart like it is. Perhaps sometime this week Ill spend a little time at work after hours and tinker with it.
User avatar
Holy_CRX
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:47 pm
Location: Dallas Texas, 75248

Re: Double Din issue

Postby tommy » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:47 am

Yep, the double din cages work the same way. Easy peasy.
1990 ZcSi
User avatar
tommy
 
Posts: 2480
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: Westwood, NJ


Return to Car Audio, Gadgets and Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests